As Head of the Department of Transport

An attractive, competitive airport in Hamburg was hugely important for future employment and prosperity, of that the head of the Department of Transport, Helmut Schmidt, was certain. As the transport expert on the Hamburg political scene, he began laying the foundations for turning Hamburg into an aviation centre as early as the 1950s. Central to this work was finding a location for a technical base for a German airline to be newly re-founded in the wake of the recovery of sovereignty over the airspace by the German authorities after the Second World War.

About 60 years later, on the 100th birthday of Hamburg Airport in 2011, Helmut Schmidt reported in an interview, “I was then the head of the Department of Transport, and apart from the harbour and the houses of ill-repute, it was all mine. Of course, our mayor Max Brauer and others helped in putting together the bid and the result is history: the Lufthansa Technik base, constructed on a former horse race track at the Hamburg Airport was completed in time to start operating for the newly founded post-war German Lufthansa, becoming one of the three pillars of aviation in the north.”

The lease with the airline was signed on 2 December 1953, leading to the construction of a huge maintenance and overhaul hanger. This became the foundation of today’s Lufthansa Technik base and what is today one of the most important aviation locations worldwide.

Technical base for secure employment
As Head of department, Schmidt was certain that Hamburg was a very suitable location for the soon to be founded German Lufthansa airline and its technical base and maintenance centre. To achieve this, a large aircraft hangar would have to be constructed, and the other requirements for a comprehensive maintenance centre would have to be made available. The Lufthansa technical base has since become Lufthansa Technik AG, servicing the Lufthansa and other airline fleets.

 

From Hamburg to the World
In the subsequent years, Hamburg Airport developed into a transatlantic aviation hub. From 1956 for example, Lufthansa flew the Hamburg-Dusseldorf/Frankfurt-Paris-Dakar-Rio de Janiero-São Paulo-Buenes Aires route. This was the time of the Lockheed Super Constellation, a four-propeller plane that enabled the airlines to fly long haul flights (with multiple stops). As the age of the jet aircraft began in the 1960s with the Boeing 707, the legendary Pan Am airline became a frequent visitor to Hamburg with its Copenhagen-Hamburg-London-New York route. Air France began its first long-haul flight from Paris via Hamburg to Tokyo, passing over the North Pole.

 

Aviation in Hamburg today
What began in the 1950s with finding a location for a technical base for an airline at the airport of the city of Hamburg, has since become one of the world’s most important locations in the civil aviation industry. In total, more than 40,000 highly qualified specialist personnel are working here. Their core competencies cover the complete life cycle of an aircraft, from the design, manufacture and fitting out, to the global system of air transportation, maintenance, repair and overhaul, and finally to recycling. The two giants of the industry, Airbus and Lufthansa Technik, are joined by Hamburg Airport and more than 300 small and medium-sized enterprises, as well as a variety of scientific and technological institutions. Every one of them contributes know-how and expertise.

http://www.hamburg-aviation.de/de/ueber-uns/standort.html

Der Leiter des Amts für Verkehr in den 1950ern
Einen wichtigen Zukunftsfaktor für Arbeit und Wohlstand in Hamburg sieht Amtsleiter Helmut Schmidt in einem attraktiven, wettbewerbsfähigen Hamburger Flughafen. Als Verkehrsexperte in der Hamburger Politik stellt Helmut Schmidt in den frühen 1950ern die Weichen für den Aufbau des Luftfahrtstandorts Hamburg. Zentrale Aufgabe: die Ansiedlung der Werft einer nach der Wiedererlangung der Lufthoheit neu zu gründenden deutschen Fluggesellschaft.

Rund 60 Jahre später, zum 100. Geburtstag des Hamburger Flughafens 2011, erinnert er sich in einem Interview: „Ich war damals Leiter des Amtes für Verkehr, und außer dem Hafen und den Freudenhäusern gehörte alles andere mir. Mitgewirkt bei diesem Angebot haben natürlich unser Bürgermeister Max Brauer und andere, und was dabei herauskam, ist bekannt: die Lufthansa-Technik-Basis, die auf dem Gelände einer Ex-Pferderennbahn am Flughafen Hamburg rechtzeitig zur Flugbetriebsaufnahme der nach dem Krieg neu gegründeten Deutschen Lufthansa fertig geworden war und zu einer der tragenden drei Säulen der Luftfahrtmetropole im Norden wurde.“

Am 2. Dezember 1953 wird der Mietvertrag mit der Flughafengesellschaft geschlossen, eine große Wartungs- und Überholungshalle gebaut. Es ist der Grundstein für die heutige Lufthansa Technik und den Luftfahrtstandort Hamburg.

 

Technische Basis sichert Arbeitsplätze
Als Amtsleiter setzte sich Schmidt dafür ein, dass Hamburg der nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg neu zu gründenden Deutschen Lufthansa und ihrer technischen Basis einen geeigneten Standort zur Verfügung stellen kann. Wichtige Entscheidung dabei: Der Bau eines großen Flugzeughangars und weitere Voraussetzungen für einen umfangreichen Wartungsbetrieb. Aus der Lufthansa-Werft ist inzwischen die Lufthansa Technik AG geworden.

 

Von Hamburg in die Welt
In den folgenden Jahren entwickelt sich der Hamburger Flughafen zu einem Drehkreuz für den Transatlantikverkehr. Lufthansa flog ab 1956 beispielsweise auf der Strecke Hamburg-Düsseldorf/Frankfurt-Paris-Dakar-Rio de Janeiro-São Paulo-Buenos Aires. Symbol dieser Zeit ist sicher die Lockheed Super Constellation, mit der die Airlines damals ihre Langstrecken, meist mit mehreren Zwischenstopps, absolvierten. Als Anfang der 1960er mit der Boeing 707 das Jet-Zeitalter eingeläutet wurde, war beispielsweise die legendäre Pan Am mit diesem Flugzeug auf der Strecke Kopenhagen-Hamburg-London-New York ein häufiger Gast. Air France führt die erste Langstrecke von Paris über Hamburg bis nach Tokio über den Nordpol ein.

 

Der Luftfahrtstandort heute
Was in den 1950ern mit der Ansiedlung eines Wartungsbetriebs am Hamburger Flughafen begann, ist zu einem der Standorte der zivilen Luftfahrtindustrie weltweit angewachsen. Insgesamt arbeiten hier mehr als 40.000 hochqualifizierte Fachkräfte, deren Kompetenzen den gesamten Lebenszyklus eines Flugzeuges abdecken: der Entwicklung, Herstellung und Montage, Wartung, Reparatur und Überholung bis hin zum Recycling. Neben den beiden Branchenriesen Airbus und Lufthansa Technik sowie dem Flughafen Hamburg tragen heute über 300 kleine und mittelständische Unternehmen sowie vielfältige technologisch-wissenschaftliche Institutionen zum Luftfahrt-Know-how in der Hansestadt bei.

http://www.hamburg-aviation.de/de/ueber-uns/standort.html