Helmut Schmidt, leading civil servant of the German Republic
After entering the German Bundestag as a member of Parliament for the SPD in 1953, Helmut Schmidt revealed his extraordinary rhetorical talent, his predilection for clear expression and his passion for debating. The young politician (he was only 34 years old when he began in Bonn) quickly earned himself the nickname of “Schmidt Schnauze” (Schmidt the Lip).

Helmut Schmidt took over from Willy Brandt, also from the SPD party, after Brandt resigned in 1974. He held power right up until the parliament passed a constructive vote of no confidence eight years later. His political style was characterised by his pragmatism, personal sense of duty and dedication towards democracy.

As the “leading civil servant of the Federal Republic” – as Helmut Schmidt, perhaps with a twinkle in his eye, referred to himself – he proved himself to be a crisis manager par excellence. Numerous challenges awaited him throughout the eight years of his Chancellorship: the effects of the oil and global financial crisis, the “German Autumn” of the RAF terror, international political resistance against the NATO double-track decision and the anti-nuclear power movement. Helmut Schmidt always represented responsible financial policy in a time of economic turmoil brought on by the enormous increase in oil prices.


Schmidt the crisis manager: RAF period and the hijacking of the ”Landshut”
In the mid 1970s, the Federal Republic of Germany suffered a wave of terrorist attacks organised by the “Red Army Faction” (RAF). These reached their zenith in a period known as the “German Autumn” in 1977, with the kidnapping of the leader of the German Employers’ Association, Hanns Martin Schleyer. The position of the Crisis Unit is firm: RAF members being held in prison would not be released in exchange for the kidnap victim, the State would not be blackmailed. In the wake of the crisis, both Helmut Schmidt and his wife Loki left written instructions that should either ever be kidnapped, no terrorists should be freed in exchange for their release.

On 13 October 1977, the Lufthansa-Boeing 737 called “Landshut” was hijacked by Palestinian sympathisers of the RAF on its return journey from Palma de Mallorca to Frankfurt am Main with 82 passengers and five crew on board. Helmut Schmidt sent state secretary of the Foreign Office, Hans-Jürgen Wischnewski, to Mogadishu in Somalia, the last stop of the hijacked plane. After five days of negotiations, German special troops from the counterterrorism unit GSG 9 stormed the plane, and successfully managed to liberate the hostages with no loss of life. Back in Germany, the RAF members being held in the high-security prison Stammheim commited suicide. On release of the news, Hanns Martin Schleyer was murdered by his kidnappers. Schmidt would later say that he was weighed down by the outcome, but his steadfast refusal to give in to terrorist demands found a great deal of public support among the German population.

 

Schmidt and Europe
Helmut Schmidt was always driven by his belief in European integration, seeing it as the bedrock for enduring peace between the nations on the continent. This passion united him with Valéry Giscard d’Estaing, the French President, leading to a long and close friendship between the two leaders. They both ascended to the pinnacle of power in their respective countries at almost the same time in 1974, amid the simmering economic tensions of that decade. Overcoming domestic resistance, the two statesmen set about creating collaboration between France and Germany and coordinating economic policy, both bilaterally and across Europe. Together, they launched the first global economic summit in 1975, an act that lives on in the G7 and G8 summits held today.

Helmut Schmidt, der leitende Angestellte der Bundesrepublik
Nach seinem Eintritt in den Deutschen Bundestag als SPD-Abgeordneter Anfang der 1950er Jahre beweist Schmidt schnell ein außergewöhnliches rhetorisches Talent, eine Vorliebe für klare Begriffe und eine Leidenschaft fürs Debattieren. Bald hat er der damals junge Politiker (er war erst 34 Jahre alt, als er in Bonn begann) einen Spitznamen: „Schmidt Schnauze“.

Von Willy Brandt, ebenfalls SPD, übernimmt Helmut Schmidt 1974 nach dessen Rücktritt das Amt des Bundeskanzlers. Bis zum konstruktiven Misstrauensvotum des Parlaments 1982 hat der Hamburger es inne. Pragmatismus und ein sehr persönliches Pflichtgefühl gegenüber der Demokratie prägen Schmidts politisches Handeln.

Als „leitender Angestellter der Bundesrepublik“, wie Helmut Schmidt sich selbst, vielleicht augenzwinkernd, bezeichnete, wurde er zum Krisenmanager par excellence. Die acht Jahre seiner Kanzlerschaft hielten zahlreiche Herausforderungen bereit: die Folgen der Öl- und Weltwirtschaftskrise, den „Deutschen Herbst“ des RAF-Terrors, innenpolitische Widerstände gegen den NATO-Doppelbeschluss und die Anti-Atomkraft-Bewegung. Helmut Schmidt steht für eine verantwortungsvolle Finanzpolitik in einer durch enorm gestiegene Ölpreise ökonomisch angespannten Zeit.

 

Krisenmanager Schmidt: RAF-Zeit und Entführung der „Landshut“
Mitte der 1970er Jahre erlebt die Bundesrepublik eine Terrorwelle der sogenannten „Rote Armee Fraktion“ (RAF). Ihren Höhepunkt erreicht sie im „Deutschen Herbst“ von 1977 mit der Entführung des Präsidenten der Arbeitgeberverbände Hanns Martin Schleyer. Die Ausrichtung im Krisenstad unter Leitung Schmidts ist klar: Es soll keinen Austausch von Geiseln gegen inhaftierte RAF-Terroristen geben, der Staat dürfe sich nicht erpressbar machen. So hinterlegen Bundeskanzler Helmut Schmidt und seine Ehefrau Loki schriftlich, dass sie beide, im Falle einer Entführung, nicht gegen Terroristen ausgetauscht werden wollen.

Als am 13. Oktober 1977 die Lufthansa-Boeing 737 „Landshut“ mit 82 Passagieren und fünf Besatzungsmitgliedern an Bord auf dem Rückweg von Palma de Mallorca nach Frankfurt am Main von palästinensischen Sympathisanten der RAF entführt wird, sendet Helmut Schmidt im Laufe der sechstägigen Entführung Staatsminister Hans-Jürgen Wischnewski als Unterhändler ins somalische Mogadischu, der letzten Station der Flugzeugentführung. Nach insgesamt fünf Tagen stürmt die Sondereinsatztruppe der GSG 9 die „Landshut“ – mit Erfolg: Die Geiseln werden lebend befreit. Die in Stammheim inhaftierten RAF-Mitglieder begehen daraufhin Selbstmord, Hanns Martin Schleyer wird von seinen Entführern ermordet. „Ich bin in Schuld verstrickt“, wird der Bundeskanzler später sagen. Schmidts Unnachgiebigkeit gegenüber dem Terror erfährt in der Bevölkerung große Zustimmung.

 

Helmut Schmidt und Europa
Die europäische Integration ist eines der wichtigsten Themen für Helmut Schmidt. Er versteht sie als Fundament für dauerhaften Frieden zwischen den Völkern auf dem Kontinent. Diese Leidenschaft eint ihn auch mit Valéry Giscard d’Estaing, dem französischen Staatspräsidenten, mit dem ihn eine enge, dauerhafte Freundschaft verbindet. 1974 kommen sie, in wirtschaftlich sehr angespannten Zeiten, fast zeitgleich an die Spitze ihrer jeweiligen Staaten. Trotz mancher Widerstände setzen die beiden Staatsmänner auf deutsch-französische Zusammenarbeit und eine Abstimmung der Wirtschaftspolitik – bilateral und in Europa. Zusammen rufen sie 1975 den ersten Weltwirtschaftsgipfel als Vorläufer der G7- bzw. G8-Gipfel ins Leben. Zusammen mit Valéry Giscard d’Estaing erarbeitet der ausgewiesene Finanzpolitiker Schmidt den Ecu (European Currency Unit) als System der europäischen Währungsintegration und Vorläufer des Euro.

 

Der Elder Statesman
Insbesondere in der Zeit nach der Jahrtausendwende wächst Helmut Schmidts Bedeutung als Elder Statesman. Er publiziert als Autor oder Herausgeber im Laufe seines Lebens insgesamt rund 45 Bücher und ab 1983 unzählige Artikel in der Wochenzeitung Die ZEIT. In Talkshows und Gesprächsrunden spricht er – stets profund durchdacht und markant formuliert – über welt- und finanzpolitische Themen und wird laut Umfragen der beliebteste Politiker der Bundesrepublik Deutschland.